Books Books Books (AGAIN)

So after a rousing little read and discussion over at MerylF’s excellent blog, Pressing Stories, I feel more motivated then ever to get my novel series, Eikasia, published.

Yeah, I know. Strange to feel so optimistic when I just missed an update. But y’know what…?

BITE ME!

I have two books all polished and pretty. Just another rub and they are essentially ready for the market I think. I mean…they are already FREE to you guys, but how many of you actually like reading on your computers? Not everyone has a smartphone, and not everyone has a tablet, but plenty of people have e-readers, right? So I want to make things easy on you guys, and this is the best way I know how.

To get myself into the writing spirit, I’ve decided to pick up my reading habit once more. I’m actually already halfway through The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson. I have too many books I’ve bought sitting on my “to-read” shelf, honestly. But what the heck! I went out and grabbed Carrie Vaughn’s new installment to the Kitty Norville series, Kitty Steals the Show, a paranormal adventure series with plenty of spunk and sexiness and my all time favorite supernatural beasts—WEREWOLVES. Carrie’s one of my all-time favorite authors–not to say there haven’t been a few books from her I didn’t like–but she’s clearly a prolific writer, and has great skill in crafting engaging stories. Plus…she’s a HUGE nerd, like me! Check out her blog here on WordPress, it’s awesome. I also bought Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects, which seems like a quick thriller read with nice visual writing. Honestly, what I REALLY could use with right now, is something like Arthur Plotnik’s spicy and inspiring Spunk and Bite, or Christopher Vogler’s “controversial” modern interpretation of Joseph Campbell’s work in The Writer’s Journey. If I had the extra moolah, I might’ve even bought today, The Artist’s Way, which all three of my counselors in my life (yes I have issues) have recommended to me.

You know what would be even better though? I’ve been wanting to get the ball rolling on my writing projects for YEARS now. I’ve tried “networking” only to fall flat on my face, and now I only use social media in a sort of utilitarian fashion. I want to change that. That’s part of the reason I started seriously blogging again. But there’s more to just me being self-involved in my own little corner of the internet. I have to branch out.

So I’ve added to my long wish list, Kristen Lamb’s, We Are Not Alone: The Writer’s Guide to Social Media. Honestly? I try to avoid books that tell me “how” to write. I like to get books that give me inspiration and marketing tactics. This is one of them, and it comes highly recommended. I don’t know how many of you reading this are into writing, but if you are, I say give this book a shot with me. We’ll compare notes. 🙂

Kristen Lamb has her own blog here on WordPress.com, and you can read it here. She had a great post recently on protagonists as antagonists by proxy, using Darren Aronofsky’s The Black Swan as an example.

I might try my hand at a bit of writing tonight. Bedtime is midnight, as I have work tomorrow morning till the afternoon. Luckily, I have 3 days off after that! Yessssss…

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Books Books Books (AGAIN)

  1. MerylF says:

    Good for you Illise! I’m so proud of you for taking a deep breath and going for it. You have just taken a big step on your career as a writer.

Leave a Reply

