Old Book Review: The Way of Shadows by Brent Weeks

This is an old review I did from back in 2011. I’m assuming most of you haven’t visited my Goodreads profile, but there I have a few insightful thoughts on the works I’ve read over the years. As part of a series, I’d like to upload one book review a week from my past reviews so that you guys are given the heads up to other stories that you might enjoy!

The Way of Shadows is a good book. The plot is really intricate, and it’s damn well written. The protagonist can be frustrating, as he is very flawed and not quite what you’d call a ‘hero’, but his struggle to feel and follow his moral compass over simple survival is a theme that Weeks displays very well. The setting is lush and intricate, the dangers to characters palpable, and the drama both heart wrenching and cathartic. As far as dark fantasy goes, it isn’t my favorite, but this is a good book. I really liked the ending, and felt it justified a lot of the trials and tribulations the characters go through over the course of the novel.

For anyone who has read Among Thieves by Douglas Hulick, or The Warded Man by Peter V. Brett, then this is definitely worth a look. I’m eager to read the next part in the series!
Get The Way of Shadows on Amazon now!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

